Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Dear Brain: Shut Up! Love, Heart

Overanalyze: to separate (a material or abstract entity) into constituent parts or elements AKA to over think things to the point of it either being annoying or ruining your relationships with people. This is a combination definition from two invaluable internet sources: Dictionary.com and Urban Dictionary. I know I really did doctorate level research on this one. Actually I don’t need library time for this topic I know it all to well. In fact I would use ‘overanalyze’ as a descriptive verb for my life. This is probably true for most females and I think it makes the top 3 in things men don’t like about women. We have a tendency to overanalyze every word, message, act that a man does or does not do AKA everything.

How many times has a man told you something as simple as, “I can’t come over tonight I have to wake up early for work tomorrow” and you actually stopped to think. It doesn’t matter what you thought about. It should be an immediate, “Ya of course we’ll get together later”. There should not be any questions that pop into your head, but they do, sneak buggers!

Piggybacking on the post, Can’t Fight This Feeling a couple days after the night in question I asked Solo if he hooked up with that girl (totally a cool chick unfortunate then that we both wanted to make out with his face and she beat me…lame). So he responded with, “ No I didn’t. I asked her to just leave” As utterly embarrassing as this next rhetorical question is I’m going to say it, just because I know for a FACT that some of you will relate to it, okay here it goes…Do you know how long I spent decoding what he meant by the word, “just”?????? Because the use of that word made it sounds like there was a story or reason. Now I am going to put on my Not Crazy hat and say he probably spent two seconds deciding his response to me and hasn’t thought about it sense. He probably asked her to leave because he was drunk and tired and that’s the bottom line.

There is no need to overanalyze men. Their actions speak volumes over anything they could say or write. A very wise woman stopped me in the middle of a classic relationship rant of mine and said, “Stop racking your brain and breaking you heart”, ah a brilliant woman, my mother. What a true statement though. I cannot tell you how many conversations I have had with my best girlfriends about the men in their lives and what he said to her and how he said it and what does it all mean. My new rule is: If you have to think about it then it is not worth your energy. Ladies I promise if a guy likes you there will be no questions needed, he’ll show you. If he wants to be left alone there will be no questions needed, he’ll be short, ignore your calls, be unexplainably busy, and will only want to hang out when it is convenient for him. So get over it, move on, it’s his loss. I promise there are at least three of his friends that think he is an idiot for not locking you down. I realize that the ratio of men to women in the United States is a joke and that women have to fight for the good ones, but look closer what do you see? I see that the women that are in relationships are the ones that don’t put up with any BS and call their man on his shit (sorry I couldn’t think of a more poetic way to phrase that, it is just the truth). So stop fighting for him and make him fight for you. Oh and tell your brain to give it a rest your heart is tired.

I told you I would have more music from my favorite band, Sleigh Bells. So here you go this is Run the Heart, also my favorite track off of their debut album, Treats. They're working on a new albumn now and I couldn't be more excited!

Lyrics: I wanna wanna hang a name on you…I wanna know whats good for you…you wanna wanna hang a name on me…you wanna know whats good for me…you don’t really wanna know…you take a heart I can take out two…you take a heart I can take out you…ah ah ah ah ah




And because I was in my lair of sickness this past week and missed Friday’s Music Weekend Kickoff here is an extra little something. This is BAGO: I Forget You and is produced by a friend of a friend, Alexander Spit an incredibly talented artist from San Francisco.

No comments: