Apparently it’s engagement season. I’m not sure if anyone else has noticed, but it feels as though the entire world is engaged right now. This Friday video comes from CeCe Peniston and is one I love to dance to, but cannot relate with. However, there are many people close to me that can. So in honor of the 3 weddings I’ll be attending this year here’s one to dance your ass off to…at least the guy is hot!
Oh and if your having trouble leaving comments I'm told if you list yourself under Anonymous it will let you.
4 comments:
finally it is happening to me? hardly!!!! it is happening to everyone else....tis the season for engagements, weddings and babies- blah. I want to register for being single. why isn't that allowed?
hahaha it's like that episode of Sex and The City where she sends her friend the gift registry for her wedding to herself! "there should be a congratulations you didn't marry the wrong man card"!!!
So...first off, I feel obligated to let you know that I'm a man...not only that, but a straight, single man. So, I hope you don't mind me 'crashing the party', since I know I'm not necessarily in your intended target audience. I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate your blog. It's a great reminder that the female psyche is not that much different than the male psyche. Believe it or not, I can completely identify with, and relate to, some of your posts. I really think that fear of commitment and family or friend pressures for having that 'significant other' are no longer conventions strictly for women. Maybe that's what all that 'bra burning' you were talking about was really for, ensuring that neither sex really has a good grasp on what it means to interact with the opposite sex? I've been single for almost 4 years, without a 'serious' dating relationship during that time. For the first year, it was because I was self aware enough to realize I needed the time to heal (Yeah, I got dumped after a long term relationship), but after some time, I just became completely indifferent to dating. I tried the internet thing...but that only weilded desperate women who were 'husband shopping', which is really what caused the apprehension in me. I guess what I'm trying to convey is that, I relate to what you say about men not 'wanting a realtionship', but for me it's a different perspective. At first, I was insecure, dejected, and needy...Like that great lyric from the Gym Class Heroes,"Furthermore, I apologize for any skipping tracks It's just the last girl that played me left a couple cracks". Then, I decided "I'll Date!" and was greeted with the 'husband shoppers' I mentioned earlier...I, for one, am not opposed to having a relationship (and perhaps I don't fit your demographic because that decision is not based on some innate desire to 'keep up the hunt') but I just want to let it take its time...let things happen slowly and naturally without all the pressure. There are the opposing concepts in my head. Like you I really enjoy my 'singledom', not having to worry about, or answer to, anybody else...but I also love cuddling on the couch watching movies, or having that person you HAV TO call or talk to after something amazing or extremely frustrating happens...but I am not willing to 'settle' or rush. Like you said, Marriage and committment...those last a loooong time...so I guess my defense to some of your theories about why men can't commit comes down to this: I might end up being with a woman for a very, very long time...so what's the rush? I chose once before...and chose wrong...very, very wrong. So now, I just want the time and space to make sure I'm building something I can depend on, something that I can invest in...Does that make any sense? I'm not a commitmentphobe, I'm just 'choosy'. In truth, I don't really know what compelled me to respond to your blog, but my hope is that you'll appreciate that I did...I mean, isn't that somewhat the intent? To inspire a reaction? Anyways, with all that said, keep up the good work, good luck with 'the hunt', and...Do you want to go out sometime? lol ;o)
Thanks for putting yourself out there...
I would never discriminate all are welcomed to post their opinions. Thank you so much for taking the plunge because you are right the purpose is to inspire a reaction. Plus us girls drive ourselves crazy overanalyzing the male sex so anytime you want to give us the male perspective please feel free! Also note that while it seems I may make generalizations of guys I know that the good ones are out there and not every guy is the same. What you said about being cautious and picky is completely valid. I don’t know about you, but I would rather take my time and be single for half my life than end up divorced at 30. I am currently doing the online thing. I haven’t gotten up the guts to go through with a date, but I think that will be one of my posts here pretty soon, quite possible the next one. Also if anyone wants me to talk about any topic in particular, just ask. I am an open book and trust me I have an opinion about everything!
Karen B
Post a Comment